Special Stories User Guide

6. Using Collections

Contents
Back Next

Special Stories makes it easy to group your stories together into separate collections, each with an informative title. Situations where you might want to make use of this include:

The main view in Special Stories only ever displays the stories in one collection: we refer to this as the currently selected collection. If you have never added any collections or imported any stories, all your stories will be in a single collection with title Collection 1.

To access the list of collections, and to switch between them, tap the action button at the top left in the main view, to reveal the Extra Actions view, and then tap the Manage Collections button there. You will initially see something like shown to the rightabove.

If you already have more than one collection, they will all be shown here. The currently selected collection is shown with a check (tick) beside its title. To select a different one, simply tap its title.

If you were to then tap the Extra Actions button to return to the Extra Actions view and then the Stories button to go back to the main view, you'd then see the list of stories in whichever collection you had selected. You can use this to switch between collections at any time.

If you stay with the list of collections, you can change the title of any collection, and add any notes or jottings about it, by tapping its button.

To the rightBelow we have changed the title of Collections 1 to Our First Stories and added some notes. Tapping the Save button returns you to the list of collections.

You can add another collection by tapping the + button above the list of collections. You're then presented with several options:

Whenever you create a collection, it is selected automatically.

To the leftAbove is an example where we have created 5 collections, and the currently selected one is entitled Sophie's Stories. You can rearrange the order of the collections, or delete any of them, by tapping the Edit button. But note that once you've deleted a collection, you can't un-delete it.

We recommend you make safe copies of important stories and collections by exporting them to another device or as email attachments. The Export Story button in the Extra Actions view allows you to do this, as discussed in Chapter 8. You can export stories one at a time, or export an entire collection: you don't need to select a particular collection before doing this, as the Export Story button allows you to choose between collections if you have more than one.

The import facilities, also discussed in Chapter 8, allow you to add individual stories or whole collections previously exported from this or another device. When importing a single story, you are presented with choices allowing you to import it into any existing collection or to create a new collection, and when adding to an existing collection you can replace any existing story or add as a new one. When importing a whole collection, you can choose between adding as a new one, or replacing everything in an existing collection. Be careful not to select replacing existing stories or collections if that's not what you want to do. After importing a story or collection, the relevant collection becomes the currently selected one.

To organize your collections, you will probably want to copy or move entire stories, or individual pages, between collections.

To copy or move a whole story, make sure you have selected the relevant collection, tap the story's button in the main view, and then tap the story's Edit button (as described at the beginning of Chapter 5) and then its Copy button. You can then choose to copy it to an existing collection or to create a new collection for the copy, and whether to keep the original story (i.e. copy it) or delete the original (i.e. move it).

To copy a single page, proceed as if you were going to edit the page (also described in Chapter 5), and use the page's own Copy button. You can then choose to copy the page as a new last page of an existing story in any of your collections, or to add as the first page of a new story in any existing collection. This won't offer to delete the original page, but you can easily do that yourself after copying if you want to.

Back Next
English (US) English (UK) Català Deutsch Español Français Nederlands Norsk Polski Русский Українська
Home Our Apps About Us For Schools Support
All of Our Apps
Special Words Special Stories Special Numbers Match & Find My 1st Signs Touch Apps Brochure
More
Apps for Autism Apps for Cerebral Palsy Apps for Down Syndrome Apps for Hearing Impaired
Reviews and Quotes Free Resources Case Studies
For iPad, iPhone & iPod touch For Android tablets & phones
About Us Meet the Team Awards and Nominations
Bev's Story Our Blog
More
Privacy Policy Promo Code Policy Press Information Acknowledgements
Training Workshops Free Resources Case Studies Reviews and Quotes
Contact Us Frequently asked Questions User Guides Training Workshops
Search this Site More
Join our Mailing List Receive our News Feed Redeem a Promo Code Site Map
Guides for iOS users Guides for Android users
Special Words Special Stories Special Numbers Match & Find My 1st Signs Touch Apps
Special Words Special Stories Touch Apps
Special Words Special Stories Special Numbers
Match & Find My 1st Signs
Touch-Words Touch-Numbers Touch-Colors Touch-Shapes Touch-Animals Touch-Emotions
All apps for iOS
Special Words Special Stories
Touch-Words Touch-Numbers Touch-Colors Touch-Shapes Touch-Animals Touch-Emotions
All apps for Android
Special Words Special Stories Special Numbers Match & Find Touch Apps
Missing Menu Link (#)